When I woke this and looked out of the window the sky was a deep blue colour and I wanted to get up and out straight away.  So this is exactly what I did.
I wasted no time getting ready and was out the door with out any breakfast or even a cuppa.  I decided to ride the usual Sunday route over the 3 peaks of Wrekenton, Penshaw and Downhill.  The weather was spectacular but the breeze was quite cool although not as strong as the previous day.
I was enjoying the ride and with my new tyres was moving along at what was suprising to me much quicker than previous rides.  I wasn't complaining though.  The first hill came and went nicely setting me up of an enjoyable ride down into the wear valley at Penshaw.  This is where I had my first experience on my new tyres with some one on a road bike.  
Now then I have heard a hundred times or more how my bike will not be suitable because its not a road bike and its too heavy to ride the distance.  I have discussed this with people who ride and who have ridden the same length I am expecting to.  Some say my bike is no good others say its ok just change the tyres but the best advice given was this!  I was asked is your bike comfortable the answer was most comfortable I've been on a bike.  The reply was then change the tyres to slicks and the bike is more than suitable.
Back to my road bike in Penshaw.  I was travelling into Penshaw and ahead of me was a rider on his road bike a nice one at that he was all kitted out with the proper gear.  I passed him on the road as we were heading onto the hill to go up Penshaw and as I turned left at the top of the hill he was only about 2 thirds of the way up.  So my worries laid to rest, I had passed him and managed the hill with no problem leaving him and his road bike behind me.  Then onto Downhill and home.
30.56 miles 1 hour 47 minutes average speed 17.1mph.
Later after a lovely day out with Suzanne and James at Whitby I went for a run for about 30 minutes with Suzanne.



Leave a Reply.