Today was my first ride in 4 days after a week end camping with the family and a day off on Monday due to strong winds.  I did of course go to the gym for a couple of hours to keep myself active.
So I headed out with the intention of a steady 25 mile ride and this is pretty much what I did however, I still didn't bargain on the wind being as strong as it was.  My first 3 miles down to the pedestrian tunnel were great as the wind was behind me.  Through the other side was a different story.  I made my way through the cycle paths as I wanted to stay off the roads for safety reasons and this was ok still windy but not too bad.  This soon changed as I entered the Quayside at Newcastle I had a constant head wind for the next 6 miles all the way to the Scotswood Bridge where I crossed and turned to come back down the South side of the river back home.
The 40mph head wind had made me realise how tough things could get should the weather not be on my side.  My back and legs were aching off pedaling so hard to keep a good pace.  The thought of having to do that over 100miles is a daunting one.  Never the less I had the wind behind me now and the ride became easier for the next 9 miles home.
24.27 miles 1 hour 33 mins average speed 15.5mph.



Leave a Reply.