Was a nice day today and I left the house at about 11:30.  The intention was to head off into the hills and get about 40 mile under my belt before I had to return home for James coming in from school.
I headed through Hebburn Quay and onto the river route towards Bill Quay and  then on and through Gateshead Quayside.  the wind was blowing quite strong and in my face but I was feeling pretty good and it wasn't making my ride too difficult.  On towards Swalwell and then up the steep and winding Whickam Bank.  I have now done this several times and it is a tough incline but every time I ride up it seems easier and less of a challenge.  Then at the top a left towards Lobley Hill and then a right toward Sunniside.  The road here seems to steadily climb and just doesn't seem to stop its a steady climb and goes on for a good few miles (or so it would seem).
I then took a left turn off this road towards Beamish I was looking forward to this stretch as I had never ridden it before and it looked a good challenge with some troughs and peaks to deal with.  However, I was distracted by a huge plume of black smoke over to the left of me in the distance.  It was quite some size and the  bellowed across the whole of skyline.  I had to investigate!  I changed my course  and travelled in the direction of the smoke.  This took me down into Kibblesworth and through Team Valley then up Bensham Bank and back down onto the Quayside at Newcastle to where the fire was in a scrapyard in Byker.  The place was swamped with Police, Firefighters, The Environment Agency, Press and people trying to get a close look.  I stayed and took a video and then headed back on my ride to North Shields through the Pedestrian Tunnel and home. 32.55 miles 2 hours 25 minutes average speed 13.4mph.

CLICK HERE FOR PICTURES!
24/9/2012 12:56:17 pm

Appreciate your info

Reply



Leave a Reply.