Its been a good weekend full of riding and I have managed to put in some good milage.  Firstly on Saturday I picked up my bike from Ride and collected my new riding shoes and pedals which if I may say haven't been too bad.  And Tim was right again as he always seems to be.  A good trustable, knowlegable man when it come to his riding.  I'm glad he agreed to help me out back in December just after my mam passed away.  I would highly recommend his shop to any one I speak to now.
Sunday brought on my first real ride for a few days and I head for the hills to finish off the ride I started 19/05/2011 when I was sidetracked by the Great Byker Fire.  I headed up Windy Nook Bank in Gateshead and down the other side through low fell and over to Lady Park where I ascended back into the hills.  I came this way as I had never rode these hills and was pleasantly suprised by their intensity.  Some long winding roads with incline after incline. Once at the top a sharp left toward Beamish and then over to Pelton through Chester-le-street and up to Penshaw (chain came off on the steep hill and so did I CLEETS). Then over to Downhill and home 38.56 miles 2hr 25 mins 14.2mph average speed.
Monday took me over to Consett and up the long steady some times steep Blackhill through Anfield Plain, Stanley, Penshaw Downhill and Home.  This route specifically chosen for it distance and hills a nice mix up  of every thing I need to expect.  The weather was the main factor in this ride the morning started well but deteriorated and the wind picked up with rain it made the ride a tough one close to the end. 55.86miles 3hrs 33 minutes 15.8mph average speed.
Today was a nice morning with steady breeze but not too bad.  I headed off toward Wylam and didn't intend to do much more than this but made the 16 miles there in less than an hour so pressed onto Corbridge.  The route to Wylam is fairly flat and even with the head wind was fast but I didn't expect the hills I encountered past there and onto Corbridge not a major problem at all but took that little bit longer.  I  stopped there for a break before turning back and taking the north river route back to the pedestrian tunnel and then home.
59.42 miles 3 hours 45 minutes 15.9mph average speed.
Also had some news on my cycling jersey from logos unlimited.  It should be ready in the next day or so.  
proof_sheet_-_cycle_jacket_1.pdf
File Size: 648 kb
File Type: pdf
Download File

24/9/2012 04:05:16 am

Good article bro

Reply



Leave a Reply.